The most unlikely topic or so I thought #Nashville

I honestly never thought I would be writing about one of my favourite programmes right here on my blog. #Nashville has been one of my favourites ever since it began, I knew I would either love it or get bored and guess what I love love love it.

I adore a good old acoustic sound and I long to play the guitar – please don’t get me started this subject could be talked about until the end of time and I still haven’t managed to get a guitar tutor.
Anyway enough of that the reason this fits the bill is because of the cancer storyline that has been one of the major focus points in season three. Seeing cancer stories on TV is hard as TV is supposed to be where you chill out and escape for a while. I do still get that from Nashville with the music (which is amazing) but what I must applaud the writers for is how well they write it. Now anyone in the states who has already seen series three no spoilers as that’s one thing I cannot tolerate, and as the series hasn’t finished yet I do not know the outcome.

This weeks viewing was hard but real and that’s why these storyline’s happen. Deacon was attending a huge fundraiser when he gets a call about a donor for his liver transplant. Life changes and Deacon, Rayna, Scarlett and Maddy are excited for this gives them hope. I apologise for anyone who doesn’t watch. The saddest thing was this joy was dashed quite quickly, in the end there were complications the other end. These situations happen every single day and I also feel for the doctors as they are also frustrated as they give families hope and have to temporarily take that back.

It’s so well written, they have managed to show how many people are effected when someone close to you receives the devastating news that they have cancer. Even the joy at transplants and treatment isn’t always a sure thing. Then you see the strong people (well that’s what everyone things from the outset) they are often the people who break down in private which is exactly what Rayna did.

I felt compelled to talk about #Nashville having seen the first hand affects cancer has on families. I know all of us who have lost people to this terrible disease feel like we relive our pain when we see this on TV. For me the more I see it the more it hits home this is real and we need to find a cure to stop all the suffering.

That is why I volunteer my Saturday mornings, I am also in the process of potentially sorting a new venture too, but more on that when I have news. That is also why I have stuck to my #Dryathlon challenge still going good but more on that soon.

Until next time….

deacon

Leave a Reply

