We can do anything that we set our minds too….

Firstly, I am so so sorry that this post has taken forever to be written. I did it I did it. I gave up tea and coffee for 30 days for Cancer Research UK and the after effects have been astounding. You can still donate if there are any last minute stragglers out there https://www.justgiving.com/Hayley-Thorpe-dryathlete2015/

Thank you so much to every single person who donated, not only for your cash but also your kind words and time for me. As you saw by my posts the very start of my challenge was by far the hardest, the headaches and hunger were immense. But what I have realised since then is that it is all in our minds. Once we get used to something it’s hard for us to get out of that mind frame but it isn’t impossible. IM-POSSIBLE see it states I’m possible. I cannot take credit for that quote as I read it somewhere, probably via my best friend as she may as well have written a positivity book.

What shocked me most was the fact that when I could have my morning cuppa tea, I didn’t get that amazing feeling that I was expecting. In some ways it was enlightening and now I don’t drink as much tea as I used to. Which is kind of good for me. Although today I have been having a lazy day with TV and tea so today has been the exception to the new rule. I am not saying I don’t drink tea, as obviously I just told you that today seemed like the old me, but now I know that I don’t NEED tea, which means I am drinking more water which is much better for my health. I may not have been here with you guys but I have been jotting down notes to share with you. I was sat thinking of how grateful and humbled I am for all the support I have had during September #Dryathlon, my mind drifts to my beloved Nan one of the main reasons that I decided to challenge myself in aid of Cancer Research. I start feeling emotional by my sadness and then I laugh out loud whilst tears are streaming down my face. My beautiful Nan June would never have given up a good ole cuppa. We shared so many over the years and I am so grateful of the times we sat in her house drinking tea and watching some of her favourite films. They really were old treasures and I will remember those times always. Whenever I would go over I could guarantee a feast to eat and if we were watching films the milk tray would come out. I miss my Nan always and that is why I volunteer for Cancer Research I want to see an end to this disease and to the sadness it brings to sufferers and their families.

Leave a Reply

