10,000 steps a day for Cancer Research UK

Back in May I was riffling through Facebook and up came an advert for Cancer Research Walk All Over Cancer with 10,000 steps. I sat reading through the ad and before I knew it I had signed myself up. From July 1st until July 31st I would walk at least 10,000 steps every single day, some days this is easy but other days this is not. Back when I signed up I thought in my head July it will be warm so I can get fitter and a tan at the same time, well that sure as hell hasn’t happened today but there is still time.

I challenged myself last year with the twist on the Dryathlon and I out done myself so I thought what the hell. I get to support a charity that means the world to me. (If you didn’t already know I now work full-time for Cancer Research UK, it is a much more demanding job than that of my previous job but I love the challenge of every single very different day). Plus I am helping myself stay fit, I have walked to and from work a fair bit on and off since I moved here but making sure I do it all month to rack up them steps will be a challenge indeed.

Day one

This morning I woke to my lovely alarm (sarcasm) at 7am and I wasn’t feeling great, I had a sore throat and a few aches and pains but on I went. As I was getting ready for work I could see the clouds were turning grey, but that wasn’t going to spoil day one. I had my phone fully charged ready to have Pacer GPS switched on and I grabbed my (winter coat) yup it is July 1st but you wouldn’t have guessed it by the weather and on I went. It was a little damp in the air but it wasn’t raining when I left my house but shortly after I left the coat was on. (Annoyingly as it wasn’t cold) so on I started with my walk, the rain started to come but it was quite light to start with and then it started to come down a lot harder and faster, funnily enough like fate there were no buses passing me. I just kept thinking you will not beat me, I will not cave and before I knew it I had made it to work, with a rather damp coat and soggy feet but I had already smashed almost 6,000 steps I was happy with my progress.

At Cancer Research where I work we are on two levels, so throughout the day I am up and down so by 3pm ish I had smashed my 10,000 steps but I kept my phone with me until I had reached home, as I wanted to mark the day from when I left home until when I returned home. What a day, we had grey skies and rain, sunshine, a rainstorm and then sunshine again. Thankfully my journey home was much brighter than my journey into work.

So that pretty much sums up day one if you would like to dig deep and sponsor me you can do so here! I appreciate anything and everything that you can spare…I should also be taking part in two Race For Life’s so watch this space.

until next time 🙂

 

One thought on “10,000 steps a day for Cancer Research UK

Leave a Reply

