Book Review: The Vets At Hope Green Part One By Sheila Norton 

Published 19th January 2017 by Ebury Press

Blurb: PART ONE of a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat, and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.

Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.

But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…

Review: Ever since I read Cathy Bramley’s Wickham Hall I have enjoyed these four part short stories. When I came across this on Netgalley I was intrigued, this year I vowed to read and blog/vlog more and I thought shorts would help in between reads.
Part one sets the scene where we meet Sam (who I already like a lot, she’s passionate and caring and she wants the dream). Although working as a receptionist at a vets in London wasn’t exactly her plan but it was a means for an end. Plus the chance to step up and work with animals, her life changes and she sees a way out that takes her to Hope Green to visit her Nanna Peggy.

I won’t be posting any spoilers about her situation but I honestly didn’t see that coming. I don’t really like Adam and he’s only said a few actual words. I love Sam’s Nanna and bits about their relationship made me smile and remember my beautiful Nan, they are very different but the whole being lonely after her grandfathers passing was very similar to how my Nan was.

I can see a friendship forming and I think there’s more to what Sam was told by the elusive Joe (stressed out vet at Hope Green) there’s definitely more than meets the eye. I look forward to seeing what happens next. It’s been a funny old story so far and I believe there’s lots more for these two.

Part one was full of friendship, love, lust, loss, family and community. A beautiful read that has me begging for more. I will be pre-ordering part two as I cannot wait to see what happens next.

Thank you Ebury via Netgalley a wonderful start to a story. I look forward to seeing what happens next for Sam st Hope Green plus I will definitely be reading more from Sheila.

Leave a Reply

