Remembering Nan June 

For those of you who are new to this blog all you will see is bookish chat.

Originally this blog was called life’s too short blogger and it was aimed at my volunteering for Cancer Research. I volunteered for a year after my Nan was diagnosed with Cancer the first time and I had watched a work colleague lose her mum and saw a friend pass.

I’m glad my Nan was still here when I began my Cancer Research journey, as she loved nothing more than trawling through charity shops. She would often ask me about my experiences and she had me on the hunt for a red scarf. It’s safe to say I never found a red scarf in good condition when she was alive.

But today I am going to purchase a gorgeous red scarf in honour of my beautiful Nan and I will wear it proudly. 

In January 2016 I started a new journey I became Assistant Manager in the Cancer Research store in Lewisham. So this blog was kind of redundant as I was no longer a volunteer. However, I didn’t want to get rid of this page as I was and still am proud of what I achieved here and where it took me.

Today is the anniversary of that horrid day when I didn’t make it to work, where we said goodbye to the strongest and bravest woman I have ever known. I used to love this day in January as it is exactly one month until my birthday now I remember saying goodbye. The only blessing is that me and my siblings, my mum and auntie were there until the very end.

It was a heartbreaking experience that will never leave me but we wouldn’t have let her be on her own. The other blessing is that my Nan was no longer in pain and was reunited with my Grandad.

So apologises for the change in posts but I couldn’t let today pass without saying something. Bookish chat will be resumed tomorrow with a snippet of a book that has left me eager for more.

Love you Nan June.


One thought on “Remembering Nan June 

Leave a Reply

