Discovering Audible inc Jodi Picoult

What is Audible? I hear you say. I must be honest I have been thinking about and talking about audio books for a while on and off. I started an audio cd of Wolf Hall a while ago but the cd part was the problem.

Audible is a subscription that allows you to listen to books and podcasts wherever you are with the app. Even if you switch devices you’ll never lose your place. There are thousands of titles to choose from in the worlds largest library. As I said above I had been thinking about this for a while and then I spoke to a few bloggers via Twitter about it and after a little more thinking I was hooked. I had been given the advice to choose a long and costly read for my first read as one it would be free and I would want to get the most out of it. Which is exactly what I did.

Before choosing my first Audible read I had a few options but I kept coming back to one read in particular. Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult. I had been wanting to read this one for ages I had hinted at various family members about this book, but now I am so so glad that it was my very first Audible read. Jodi gave me Ruth’s story on many walks to and from work. For me Audible has been exactly what I needed in my life as, for a while now I have walked to and sometimes from work which has meant my reading time has slowly ceased well, that’s not totally true but walking along with your head in a book can be dangerous, so it meant I wasn’t getting as much time to read. Not as much as I would have liked anyway.

Small Great Things has been hailed this era’s To Kill A Mockingbird and I can wholly see why. It has left a lasting impression on me, that will have you questioning even your own judgement. It also made me realise that nothing in life is ever black and white. People do things for all sorts of reasons and I was totally bowled over by this story and the characters. I adored Ruth from the get go and I had read the blurb so I had some indication to the story but I wasn’t expecting the many turn of events there were. Not just in the awful situation that was the starting point of Ruth’s suspension but also all the other factors that she and her family undertook in various stages of their lives and the blatant racism and prejudice that still effects society.

I love that Jodi Picoult looks at hard hitting real issues and tells a story. I also loved that at the end of this audio there was a footnote from Jodi explaining how she came about this story and what her motivations were. If anything this has made me an even bigger fangirl of Jodi and I would love to meet her someday as each read of hers I have read has left a lasting effect and I think this may well be my favourite so far.

As an audible addict, member, subscribing I now get one credit each month so as long as my read is worth more than the £7.99 subscription then I am laughing. I have already took advantage of four daily deals. The Color Purple a classic I have had on my TBR for ever and You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero which I have listened to twice. It’s only 5 and a half hours and as my walk to work is between 40 mins to 1 hour so it didn’t take long. It’s an enlightening read and it’s really helped me. I am almost at the end of BabyDoll by Hollie Overton which was another daily steel, which has been heart-breaking yet all encompassing. I am definitely a fan of Hollie now,  and I have another motivational one to listen to at some point in How To Be Brilliant.

So Jodi and Jen have enlightened and inspired me and now I am really enjoying Hollie’s debut. There are certain books that I think will forever be my walking reads now. So it is safe to say I am having lots of fun with Audible, so thank you again to my blogger friends who inspired me to get on Audible. I am sorry this post has taken forever I have literally just had to edit and add my other daily deal fun.

Let me know if you are an Audible fan and why? Feel free to share your fave reads, tips etc. I am looking forward to choosing another title and Jodi will come up again as a lot of her reads are longer ones which will tide me over well. Plus I am loving the deals when I find treats ha. I have one credit sat waiting for me right now and I am thinking it may well be Miss You by Kate Eberlen. It keeps popping up and it sounds like the light-hearted read I need right now. I have loads still to be updating so don’t be surprised if on a few days there are more than one post and then not much. You guys know the drill with me these days…

Leave a Reply

