Audible Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton


Blurb: You’ve been held captive in one room. You’ve been mentally and physically abused every day since you were sixteen years old. Then, one night, you realise your captor has left the door to your cell unlocked. For the first time in eight years you’re free. This is what happens next.

Review: Baby Doll popped up on Audible as a daily deal I read the blurb which had me hooked. I then realised that Hollie has written for one of my fave TV shows in the Shadowhunters although I must admit I haven’t watched any of season two just yet. Based on both those things I hit download and started listening on my walk to and from work.

Now Baby Doll is similar to Room in the fact a young teen is captured and tortured mentally and physically oh and she is also raped and given a child who she also adores and looks out for throughout.

But that is where the similarities end – there are so many twists with this story and if I’m honest I’m finding it hard to review without spoiling and as a reader I want to leave you guys to discover it as I did. What I will say is Ric our captor is a disgusting man who acts like he is gods gift to women and as if he had done Lily a favour. Lily is likeable but you have to feel for her as she has missed out on and lost so much because of Ric. I loved the twists I loved the outcome and I like that in some respects it was left with you wondering on a few counts.

I loved listening to this on my walks to and from work. It took me from my own worries to a compelling world where I was astonished. 

I look forward to reading Hollies next novel which I believe is called The Walls.

Leave a Reply

