Book Review: The Last Piece Of My Heart By Paige Toon

Published 18th May by Simon and Schuster

Blurb: When life feels like a puzzle, sometimes it’s the small pieces that make up the bigger picture… Join Bridget on a journey to put her world back together.

A successful travel journalist, Bridget has ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog about the missing pieces of her heart into a book. But after a spate of rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition.
Nicole Dupré died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel. Tasked with finishing the book, Bridget is thankful to have her foot in the publishing door, even if it means relocating to Cornwall for the summer and answering to Nicole’s grieving husband, Charlie…

Review: My first ever Paige Toon read and I ended up a snotty mess. I must admit if I had had an uninterrupted day off this book may well have been finished within a day. But sadly I hadn’t had that luxury. I instantly warmed to Bridget, it was like reading about a friend. I thought I would like Charlie but he was hard to read at the beginning, the loss of his wife and taking care of their daughter and carrying on had taken it’s toll on the young widow. 
I don’t want to give too much away but I loved the connection between Charlie and Bridget I felt like I was wanting to shout at them constantly. I really really liked the concept of Bridget’s book and blog posts although early on I thought her ideal love life wasn’t meant to be. Although don’t get me wrong as a big old softie I loved the idea of collecting each piece of her heart back from former loves. It did make me think about my life and my choices. I love how Paige writes leaving you wanting more at the edge of each chapter, it was so easy for me to read long into the night….

The sense of loss that Charlie is going through is real and I enjoyed seeing the change in him thanks to Bridget and the weight that was lifted over Nicole’s novel being finished even though Charlie wasn’t essentially that fussed on that.

I loved the journey from Cornwall to Thailand, Paige’s description made me feel like I had visited Thailand and captured Cornwall perfectly, I remember many a time going up and down hills to get a phone signal to send a text or make a call whilst away. 

There are many ups and downs along the way for Bridget and Charlie but I loved the aspects of family. His brother Adam is hilarious and although different to Charlie I loved the closeness of them and the way he tried with Bridget to get the best out of Charlie. 

An awesome introduction to Paige Toon I am intrigued and look forward to reading more from her. If you have any suggestions on where I go next with Paige do leave me a comment. 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Piece Of My Heart By Paige Toon

Leave a Reply

