Audible Review: Miss You By Kate Eberlen

Published: 11th August 2016 By PanMacmillan 

Blurb: Get to know Tess and Gus in Kate Eberlen’s first novel, Miss You.

Tess and Gus are meant to be. They just haven’t met properly yet. And perhaps they never will . . .
Today is the first day of the rest of your life is the motto on a plate in the kitchen at home, and Tess can’t get it out of her head, even though she’s in Florence for a final, idyllic holiday before university. Her life is about to change forever – but not in the way she expects.
Gus and his parents are also on holiday in Florence. Their lives have already changed suddenly and dramatically. Gus tries to be a dutiful son, but longs to escape and discover what sort of person he is going to be.
For one day, the paths of an eighteen-year-old girl and boy criss-cross before they each return to England.
Over the course of the next sixteen years, life and love will offer them very different challenges. Separated by distance and fate, there’s no way the two of them are ever going to meet each other properly . . . or is there?

Review: Gus and Tess kept popping up all over social media and the more I saw it, the more intrigued I became. So when my latest Audible read was over I saw my credit flashing at me and downloaded Miss You. I instantly fell in love with the story and both Tess and Gus. I really liked that they both spoke a chapter in turn where both points of view were covered – in listening to the audio it was also good to hear a guy and a girl speak. Although my first impressions of both characters did change from time to time and I became so invested in them that I often wanted to scream at them both. Which must have looked comical as I listened to most of this on my walk to and from work. 

Finishing Miss You was my first milestone for the Bout Of Books readathon. But I must say my walk to work just won’t be the same without Gus and Tess. 
I knew this would be a love story but it was nothing like I had imagined in the best way possible. Now to do this gorgeous book justice without spoiling – as I believe everyone who discovers this treat finds there way themselves as the shock value really made it for me.

I found myself in floods of tears extremely early on as the news Tess had and the experience thereafter made me think of my Nan in an almost bittersweet way. Kate has written about sadness, anger, love and grief so well and full of passion I found myself crying but also smiling at the pure beauty of the words. Having received more family news after finishing this it really did hit home. I am now thinking more than ever about things I want and want to do in my life as none of us know how long we have. 

If you are looking for an uncomplicated love story, then sorry this is not the book for you. Miss you is a story of love, hope faith and fate. It’s really made me think again on a number of issues but most importantly live your life for you and always say what you feel to your loved ones. They may drive you crazy most of the time but when they are gone they are gone.

A heartfelt story that will stay with me forever….I look forward to reading more from Kate after this beauty.

Leave a Reply

