Book Review: The New Beginnings Coffee Club

Published 5th May 2017 by HQ Digital 

Blurb: Everyone deserves a second chance…don’t they?

Jenny Masters finds herself living the modern dream. Wife to a millionaire, living in a mansion and mother to Kardashian-obsessed ten-year-old April, there isn’t anything missing. Until, her whole world comes crashing down, forcing Jenny and April to leave behind their glittering life and start over with nothing.

With village gossip following her wherever she goes, she finds refuge and a job in the new coffee shop in town. As the days pass Jenny fears she doesn’t have what it takes to pick herself back up and give April the life she always wanted to. But with the help of enigmatic new boss Noah, and housemate Elle, Jenny realises it’s never too late to become the woman life really intended you to be!

Review: I was lucky enough to be accepted to read this On Netgalley. So thank you HQ Digital. 

I had seen lots of great chat and a few partial reviews in the lead up to reading this. Plus you may have seen I had Samantha on here answering some of my questions which you can see…..here.

I have been meaning to read Samantha Tonge for a while and I’m pretty sure I have one of her first novels on my Kobo but I am pleased that this Coffee based treat of escapism and real life issues was my first. 

Now what can I say to do this review justice, there are many real life issues covered in this novel but Samantha has asked reviewers to refrain from spoiling and I can see why. There were certain aspects that I knew there was much more to the individual and the story. 

However, there were also a few shock twists and for me that added to the drama and pace of a very well written story about new beginnings.

The new beginnings coffee club is exactly the sort of place you would want to regularly visit. Elle and Noah are friendly and empthatic of every single person that steps through their door, offering advice, gorgeous cakes and Noah’s extensive book list and coffee beans. Ooooh I am even wanting to read a book that Noah recommended Jenny The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. 

What I truly loved about this novel was the sentiment of if you want to change something you can. Jenny thinks she’s the model wife with a gorgeous daughter and the perfect marriage until it all comes crashing down on her. What Jenny cannot see is how this is going to be the turning point of her life and that of her daughter April. I adored all these characters from the offset and I would love to find a barista like Noah….

Dive in this Bank Holiday weekend…this tasty treat will make you smile and give you that get up and go to change anything that’s bothering you…

If Elle, Noah and Jenny can’t motivate you this weekend then no one can. 

Leave a Reply

