Book Review: The Cafe in Fir Tree Park by Katey Lovell

Published 26th May 2017 by HarperImpulse

Blurb: Maggie’s café is at the very heart of Fir Tree Park. Business is booming, her lemon drizzle is the stuff of legend, her children are happy and life is good. But she hasn’t had it easy. When her husband Clint was sent to prison, she had to raise Josh and Kelly alone. But Clint can’t hurt them now, and there’s no denying that Paolo, the Italian football coach she spies every weekend out on the green, is more than easy on the eye.

It may be summer outside, but a new arrival in Fir Tree Park sends an icy chill through the café…

 Review: Katey has been on my radar for a while, thanks to recommendations from friends, bloggers and authors. I have read three of her meet cute novels so far and I have literally fell in love with each and every one of them for differing reasons and differing book boyfriends. Anyway, that’s more for another day. The Café In Fir Tree park is my first full Katey novel and I am super pleased that it’s my first, from the very start I was well and truly sucked in by the setting, the characters and have you seen how gorgeous the cover is….It had me longing for an iced coffee in the park even on those dreary grey skied days.

Saying goodbye to these beautiful characters who I was instantly drawn to was super hard, until Katey said in a tweet to me that she would love to revisit some of them at least someday. I was instantly drawn to the loveable older guy in Carrick there really was something swoonsome about him and the fact he becomes such an integral part of Maggie’s story had me on the edge of my seat. Lacey was one of my early favourites and as time went on I was rooting for Maggie and for Fern. Fern is a character that will stay with you as she overcomes so much, I think everyone has a vulnerability like Fern some people are just better at hiding it.

I loved that there were many sub stories that interlinked these characters in the end. I won’t say too much as I believe discovering each person and there stories good and bad is part of the fun. What I loved is that Katey has covered a number of issues, family secrets, loss, grief, lack of confidence, vulnerability, friendship and love. I literally loved the ending as that also told me we could see more from these beautiful characters.

A truly addictive, summer read that will have you saying to yourself just one more chapter. If you are looking for a gorgeous read to join you on the beach look no further. I promise you will not be disappointed, I really do look forward to reading more from Katey….

Any suggestions???? Keep checking back there will be some meet cute love later this week.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Cafe in Fir Tree Park by Katey Lovell

Leave a Reply

