Book Review: Then, Now, Always By Isabelle Broom

Published 20th April 2017 by Penguin 

Blurb: Hannah Hodges can’t believe her luck when she’s offered a trip to sunny Spain with her best friend and dreamy boss . . . but what’s the catch?

‘Fresh, fun and full of sexual tension… a perfect spring read’ Heat
Twenty-eight year old Hannah is ready for an adventure. She and her colleagues are in Spain for a month to film a documentary, and it’s a dream come true. Not least because Hannah will get to spend long summer days with Theo, her boss (and gorgeous crush). It couldn’t be a more perfect setting to fall in love…
If only Tom (Hannah’s best friend and cameramen) and Claudette (the presenter) would stop getting in the way…
Then things become even more complicated when Nancy, Hannah’s half-sister arrives. What on earth is she doing here?
For just once in her life, can’t Hannah have one perfect summer, free of any drama?
Calling all escapists! Prepare to be whisked away to the Spanish sun in this completely absorbing page-turner.

Review: Wow! So this is my first Isabelle Broom novel although I’m sure I have another on my kindle. You know the drill they are 99p you purchase and it still takes forever to be read. Yeah that. This book was given to me by Netgalley, where I get sucked in by all the awesome sounding books and it takes me a while to get round to them ooops. So this is my second book for 20 books of summer and what a summery feel good read this was. I’m actually kind of sad that it’s over. Plus I’m also wanting to visit Mojacar. If anyone has been how many days would I need to see the sights? 

Hannah has a special bond with Mojacar and I feel like I know the place even though I had never heard of it until I read this beauty of a book. Now I want to see Mojacar in all it’s beauty, I want to experience the magic of this serene village. Hannah’s love of Mojacar makes me think of my love for Salou although she had a much longer gap in her trips than I have.

I love that Isabelle has managed to feature so many real life issues. Families and their secrets, betrayal, abuse, wanderlust, friendship, love and what stood out for me is how Hannah realises who she is and what she wants. It has nothing to do with her loveable goofy friend Tom or her gorgeous boss Theo, although these boys do make her see who she really is and that is beyond inspiring. 

What else can I say I don’t want to spoil the story, but I will say Hannah’s relationship with each and every character changes her in some way. For me her relationships with Elaine and Nancy show very different sides to Hannah yet both women shape so much about her future. 

It’s funny along the way you are always routing for Hannah and things to go her way, and just like Hannah we realise that what she thought was perfection was merely a learning curve.

I cannot express how much I loved this novel, and now I want to wanderlust even more than I did before. 

OMG! you cannot end a novel on a cliffhanger like that what an OMG moment. I literally fell in love with the story, the characters and most of all the serene calmness of Mojacar. If you want to be swept away to a village full of magic and rainbows then pick up Then.Now.Always I will remember this book for years to come and as I say Mojacar is now on my want list.

Leave a Reply

