Book Review: Brief Encounter at the Picture House By The Sea

Published by Simon & Schuster on 7th Feb 2017

Blurb: The little picture house by the sea is the Palace at Polwhipple – a lovely art deco cinema, nestled in front of azure Cornish seas. But it is long past its heyday now, and its only saving grace is Ferelli’s, the family run ice-cream concession in the foyer, which is widely known as the best ice cream for miles.

When Ferdie, the owner of Ferelli’s, falls ill, his granddaughter Gina drops everything to come and help out. But when she arrives she is dismayed by the state of the cinema, which she remembers fondly from summer holidays when she was little, and she is determined to do anything she can to help. Alongside her old friend Ben Pascoe, she sets about reviving the Palace to its former glory with a themed Brief Encounter night. 

Review: As I finished part one I was longing for more. I sometimes adore the fact I get to these treats late as I can just start part two. Although sadly I haven’t got to it yet. Yesterday when I finished this and downloaded part two, I thought I would get a head start before my meeting but alas that didn’t happen. I don’t think I had drank enough water as had a raging headache which was partially there this morning anyway back to the book.

This shouldn’t have taken me this long to read but thanks to work, the heat etc it has but my what a gorgeous treat Brief Encounter at the Picture House By The Sea is. It has made me think of both my grandparents as one I shared a love of books and the other films. I think I best be watching Brief Encounter as soon as possible. I believe if I had seen it I would remember. Plus I love another chance to feel closer to my beautiful Nan.

Anyway wow! If you love a feel good novel, the seaside, ice cream and those guys that are your book boyfriends long after you have read The End then this is definitely the read for you. I was instantly drawn to Gina – she’s likeable, fun loving and she definitely deserves the best in life. I love that she’s been honourable to her grandparents in their time of need. Although Gina’s grandfather Ferdie would never have admitted this himself. I adore the sound of Ferdie and Elena he’s bark is worse than his bite he’s a very proud man who truly loves his business. 

 I myself have been to Cornwall twice in my life but as a child we don’t always appreciate it as much as we do later in life. Holly has captured seaside life at it’s best. I love that part one ended leaving so many unanswered questions, the event at the cinema sounded totally gorgeous and who doesn’t like fancy dress. 

I won’t spoil too much but I must say I really do think Ben has my attention. I cannot wait to get stuck into part two. I have to say one spoiler this book will make you want ICE CREAM. 

Leave a Reply

