Blog Tour: Secrets Of The Italian Gardener. A Novella By Andrew Crofts plus win my book!

Today here at Hayley Reviews we welcome the blog tour for Secrets Of The Italian Gardener a novella. I’m also going to give my gorgeous book away as it should be shared not shelved…

Paperback is published by RedDoor Publishing on 6th July 2017

Blurb: Mo, the wealthy dictator of a volatile Middle Eastern country, enlists a ghostwriter to tell his story to the world and enshrine him in history as a glorious ruler. Inside Mo’s besieged palace the ghost forms an unlikely friendship with a wise and seemingly innocent Italian gardener who slowly reveals that the regime isn’t all it appears to be. As a violent rebellion threatens all their lives the ghost struggles to cope with a personal secret too painful to bear. 

SECRETS OF THE ITALIAN GARDENER takes the reader on a heart-pounding journey through the bloody downfall of a doomed tyrant in the company of a young couple struggling to cope with the greatest private tragedy imaginable. 


Author Andrew Crofts has spent much of his ghostwriting career among the dictators, politicians, arms dealers and billionaires who hold the reins of power and control the wealth of the world. When working for them, he was stationed in their lavish palaces and heavily guarded compounds in the wildest parts of Africa, Asia and the Middle East as well as in tax havens like Monaco, Bermuda and the Caribbean.

Review: Wow! Where the hell do I start? What a kick ass, heart pounding novella. It may be short in pages but Andrew really does pack a punch. 

I received this beauty of a book a while ago but I left it to almost just before today so I could inhale it and then pen my thoughts and wow just wow! Twists, turns and tragedy I was hanging on the edge of my seat. As I sat in Starbucks with a little time before my slightly later shift yesterday I was about 40% through and I still had no idea what was to come. 

I don’t want to say to much as I believe this story encompasses you when reading it. I knew early on that the ghostwriter was hiding something but I couldn’t never have prepared myself for what that something was. The way he was so down on himself I honestly was on a completely different wave length to the truth. In finding out his real story I felt compassion and could see why his morals would be compromised, each and everyone of us would do the same for our own family and loved ones.

Mo was a hard character to understand but as a ruler, there are always hard lines. With Lou just like the ghost writer he was easy to warm to, although his wife’s reaction to the writer did make me question him but not enough so I was still shocked at part of the outcome. 

My greatest sadness with this novella is that this would have been an ideal book to pass on to my beloved Grandad Sam – he had a love for politics and mystery he shared my love of books. There aren’t many we would have both read but when I have found them they are bittersweet since he died there have been a few books that touched me and made me sad as we would never share that story. I love the fact that as I have got older I can now appreciate a number of books that he loved and I look forward to discovering more and more of them. 

There were some gorgeous quotes and metaphors in this book and here are two quotes that stuck with me. Although to be honest there are probably loads from this book alone.

The world needs to find a way to give them more space to think and dream. 

And I also liked.

People like simple stories with intriguing beginnings, gripping middles and inspiring ends. 

What a description.

Now I adored this book and it needs to be shared rather than sat on a shelf so who wants my gorgeous copy. So tell me why and it could be yours….


The tour ends tomorrow don’t miss it. 

Leave a Reply

