Author Guest post: The Summer of Serendipity by Ali McNamara

Today here at Hayley Reviews I welcome the wonderful Ali McNamara. Ali is a genius for writing books that pull you in and leave you wanting more. It’s been a while since I have devoured an Ali classic and I’m pretty sure the last one I read whilst on holiday….her latest novel The Summer of Serendipity is out now. 

In the lead up to publication day I asked Ali to answer some of my questions and here they are.

1.What’s your usual publication day? Are you excited for it?

All my publication days have been different. Sometimes I’ve had book launches, sometimes quiet meals with family and friends. My favourite launch was for my first book – From Notting Hill with Love… Actually. We held it at the Travel Bookshop from the Notting Hill movie. That was very special.

2 & 3 Tell us about your inspiration for The summer of serendipity? You spent some time in Ireland as research where did you go and what can you tell us about it?

The Summer of Serendipity is set in the fictional town of Ballykiltara which is based on the town of Killarney on the west coast of Ireland. We stayed there for a few days and I was inspired by the lakes, the beautiful scenery, and the Celtic history of the area.

4. I had a guest post from you when I was part of Dark Readers and that was a while ago now. You have accomplished so much how can you put that into words? And what advice would you give to budding writers?

Being a writer is a wonderful job to have. Creating stories and sending them out into the world, then having people tell me how much they enjoy them is amazing. It can also be tough too. There are days when motivating yourself to head into your office and write 2000 words (my usual daily word count.) can feel terribly hard, and days when you think what you’re writing is complete rubbish! But luckily those days don’t happen too often, and for the most part, I love my job!
My advice is always the same: Write something you would like to read yourself, don’t try to follow trends, and most of all just get on and do it! Books won’t write themselves!

5. Tell us about the main characters from the new book and are they real people or all fictional?

All fictional. But a couple of them were inspired by people I met while in Ireland…

6. Lastly what’s the scariest thing about sending your book out into the world?

Will my readers like this one!

You can download a ebook or purchase a paperback via https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B01MQJVNBC/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1500407629&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=ali+mcnamara and just so you know there is also a special copy via Sainsbury’s with a short linked to Breakfast At Darcy’s.

Ali featured on Dark Readers for me and here it is. Ali McNamara speaks to Dark Readers

My review of The little flower shop by the sea.

My review of From Notting Hill with Love Actually

Links:

www.alimcnamara.co.uk
Twitter: https://twitter.com/alimcnamara?lang=en

Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/AliMcNamara.official/?locale2=en_GB

Thank you Ali for taking the time to answer my questions I look forward to reading and reviewing your latest novel. 

Leave a Reply

