An update plus all things YALC

Happy Sunday all…the day of rest. Well since washing my hair I have felt much more human anyway. I managed a little Nashville catch up that show always makes me laugh and cry in pretty much equal measure and the music is on point, as ever.

This week has been a crazy one and even though I was optimistic and full of hope I finished my buddy read Chase the Rainbow which was beautiful, intoxicating and incredibly raw. Myself and Catriona aka Fabulous Book Fiend are making a YouTube video. I have filmed my segments although may need to redo as I’m seriously not as confident as Cat. However I did really enjoy it so. If anyone wants to suggest a video for me I will get it up on the Hayley Reviews YouTube page this week. 

I have a number of Netgalley reads to be reading one of which I started this morning other than Chase the Rainbow I have been listening to Katie Pipers Confidence the Secret so I’m feeling very empowered thanks to Poorna Bell and Katie. 

Recently I won a gorgeous book on Twitter and this week I received it.


How gorgeous is it and the lovely card thank you so much Holly. I will be taking it with me to the coast next week. 

YALC – Saturday.

For me my YALC experience revolved around Paige Toon having devoured The Last Piece Of My Heart and The One We Fell In Love With. I was eager to meet the author – having spoken to her from time to time on Twitter that’s a new joy being able to tell authors exactly what their books are doing to you every step of the way. I was eager to attend – luckily I was able to swap a shift at work so I booked. When I got there I had planned to see the new voices talk and as much as I heard they didn’t get to speak to much I was a little gutted. I wanted to hear Carlie Sorosiak and as I still haven’t a copy of her book I was too chicken to go say hi esp as I missed the talk whilst seeing all the fuss at one of the publishers tables.


That’s my haul I won an arc and I got You Know Me Well from the Pan Macmillan lucky dip.

Paige’s talk was the romance one and I was itching to hear what the authors had to say.


Apart from Paige I haven’t read anything of any of these authors although I have been turned down on a few Jennifer E Smith books on Netgalley I hope to read Windfall very soon. I was also very intrigued by Ayisha Malik – I hope to read some of her books real soon too. The talk was funny and insightful and it was a really good mix of authors on stage and of people watching and asking questions.

So I finally met Paige.



She was lovely and 13 Weddings will be my next Paige read although after the talk I am eager to read her YA series and I believe that could be a buddy read with Catriona. 

I also met Jennifer E Smith – I felt a bit tight going up with no book but I got a book plate signed and spoke to her about the talk and that windfall would probably be my starting point.


I didn’t have pics with any of the other authors but I did meet


Karen McManus author of One Of Us is Lying – which I started reading that morning although it’s been left on the side at the moment eeeek but it has just got interesting.


Now this book was amazing I cannot wait for Genuine Fraud I have the sampler but that’s not enough argh. I told her how I wished I could have passed this onto my Grandad I finished it shortly after his funeral. 

I also met the lovely Holly Bourne – I’m so bad have her book Soulmates on my Kobo library but her newest book will more than likely be my first of hers.

Considering I went alone I bumped into bloggers I know and publishers was lovely to see Lauren and Beatrice again. I even ended up entering a comp on Lauren’s for the novel And Then We Ran which is so me she knows me so well.


There were books everywhere but I told myself I would only buy what I couldn’t get or really wanted so I only done the lucky dip.


This week is going to be a crazy one work wise for sure and then I’m off to the coast for a week of well needed me time and family time. I hope to finish The Missing Twin to review on publication day, my audiobook Confidence the Secret and get back stuck into One Of Us is Lying as I’m pretty sure things are just getting interesting.

For anyone who was sent me emails regarding FriendFriday you will be getting an email in the next day or so. I’m just about to meet a friend but it will be soon.

In review if anyone has any YouTube video suggestions although I may have just thought of one. Do get in touch plus if you want in on my new meme then it’s not too late.

One thought on “An update plus all things YALC

Leave a Reply

