Blogmas, ebook, novella, Short Story, TeamSparkly, Uncategorized

Ebook Review: Christmas in St Ives By Miranda Dickinson

Blurb: Heartbroken Cerrie Austin is doing her best to hold it together in the run up to Christmas. Not easy when her cheating ex works in the same school and everyone’s eyes are on her. The last thing she needs is a new teacher meddling in her beloved nativity play, even if he is charming, handsome and a talented musician. The Christmas performance is her pride and joy, and she won’t be undermined.
Seren McArthur has recently returned to her Cornish hometown and is enjoying being close to her family and her oldest friends again. St Ives is at its most magical at Christmas, with fairy lights and tinsel in every shop window, tempting locals and holidaymakers alike as they pick up gifts. But an exciting opportunity is just around the corner: will she stay or will she go?
Meanwhile, the St Ives Christmas celebrations are in crisis: plans for a giant lantern parade through the starlit streets have ground to a halt. As the snow starts to fall, can Cerrie, Seren and their friends Kieran and Aggie rally around in time to save the big day?
Christmas in St Ives is a charming novella that introduces you to the characters from Miranda Dickinson’s upcoming novel, Somewhere Beyond the Sea. Available for preorder now!

Review: #TeamSparkly member – super proud to start with that line. When Miranda asked if any bloggers, reviewers etc wanted to be a part of something special I was instantly thinking hell yes. I never forget how excited I was when she revealed the cover for Christmas in St Ives. I’m still in awe of how beautiful and perfectly festive it is.

As you can see it’s quite clearly Christmas at the seaside. The red and white and the lighthouse, with the gorgeous snowflakes.

I’m so annoyed that it’s taken me so long to review this. I feel like I have let myself and Miranda down by this – especially as I was one of the early team. SORRY!

I read most of this short in my first sitting but awful headaches and crazy work days ruined me. In some ways I have loved having these characters by my side for a little longer. When Miranda said this novella would feature the characters from her next novel Somewhere Beyond the Sea, I was excited and now I literally cannot wait for June.

This was the perfect start to the Christmas festivities. Download it, snuggle down with a peppermint mocha and embrace the sparkliest novella I have ever read.

Cerrie is a character that I instantly loved and her friends are all great too. Christmas is all about the kids and the fact that Cerrie is the teacher – who organises and puts on the Christmas production. It makes you think of all the smaller things that make the festive season great.

I have already admitted to Miranda via Twitter that she has given me another book boyfriend in Kieran – he’s a sweet soul and his emotions get the better of him at times. Saying that each and every one of the friends had me from the off.

I loved how each character had chapters each and we obviously got both versions of certain situations. This novella has emotional real life scenarios, Christmas treats, good friends and a hint of love. What more can you want from a Christmas read.

Miranda has a beautiful way with words, she always manages to make me escape into a world I long for. Christmas in St Ives is a beautiful tale that will give you hope during the festive season.

Miranda creates magic and this novella had me captivated from start to finish. I can’t wait to be reunited with these gorgeous characters in June when I will buddy read once again with Cat.

My gorgeous copy which includes my Twitter handle name and that was my first Christmas choccie of the season….

If you have read this beauty feel free to chat with me some more???

I loved all of these characters and the story had me. Such emotional family and friend moments. I am such a sap I know.

If there’s another gorgeous novella I have missed feel free to let me know. Miranda has a treat that I’m sure to want to share later so check back this evening. I believe it’s Kieran based 😳😜.

Leave a comment